the nine

Updated: Mar 13, 2019

Do you even Enneagram? Episode 2

There are nine distinct personality types on the Enneagram. If you envision the Enneagram as a symbol, it would be a nearly full circle, encapsulating nine different points, each of which are interconnected within the circle - a little like a Spirograph. At the tippy-top of the circle is the number 9. The other numbers fall on either side of the 9, in alternating order - on the left side of the circle, the numbers 8, 7, 6 and 5 fall. On the right, the numbers 1, 2, 3 and 4. Each number represents a specific personality type. Depending on which resource you are using, each type might go by a slightly different name. The nine names I use for this series came from a combination of the Enneagram Institute and "The Road Back to You." I found these type descriptors to be the easiest to remember

If you're new here, make sure you check out Episode #1 - What Even IS the Enneagram? Otherwise, carry on!

The nine different Enneagram types are :

1. The Perfectionist (or the Reformer)

2. The Helper

3. The Achiever (also called the Performer)

4. The Individualist (or the Romantic)

5. The Investigator

6. The Loyalist

7. The Enthusiast

8. The Challenger

The names give some indication as to the type of characteristics you might expect a person within that category to exhibit. What is super cool about the Enneagram, though, is that we each have access to at least some part of all nine types. No one is 100% a Perfectionist, or a Helper, or a Loyalist or any other type. Even the most stringent Perfectionist has a few of the characteristics of the Enthusiast available to them. At our highest level of functioning, I believe we would be fully integrated, meaning that our score in each of the nine types would be equal and we would move with ease along the continuum of the Enneagram depending on the circumstances we faced.

Tomorrow we will dive in and begin exploring the individual types, one at a time. Stay tuned, friends!

22 views0 comments